Anyone know about underground phone cables

A place for any non MT related guff...
pupster
Posts: 658
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 9:24 pm
Location: Machynlleth

Anyone know about underground phone cables

Post by pupster » Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:10 pm

Hi.
Just dug a trench for a heat main between house and outbuilding.
At some point in the future, I will want phone and internet in the workshop.
What cable should I lay underground at this stage to cover all bases in the future.

I've seen this on eBay....

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/50m-External- ... 4d1b10f894" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Would that be right for the job?

Thanks, John.
0 x

User avatar
mt bandit
Posts: 1732
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 8:04 am
Location: kent

Re: Anyone know about underground phone cables

Post by mt bandit » Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:14 pm

i think i would just lay a 2" service pipe with a string cord in it, so they can pull through whatever they want,
coz as everything changes what you lay now might not be any good later down the line
mick
0 x
Armstrong 600
500 outfit

Lee E

Re: Anyone know about underground phone cables

Post by Lee E » Thu Jun 11, 2015 1:24 pm

Just asked the missus (who is a BT Openreach engineer) and shes says the item on the unmentionable site is fine or as an alternative lay Fibre rather than cooper for better speed.
0 x

User avatar
TDIPower
Posts: 2357
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 11:48 pm
Location: Sheffield
Location: Sheffield

Re: Anyone know about underground phone cables

Post by TDIPower » Thu Jun 11, 2015 9:15 pm

if you can put a 2" pipe in its a good thing. I used this http://www.toolstation.com/shop/p20536" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;. you can run a few that way and you can keep various services separate (you want to keep power and data separate). I just used kite string to pull the cable through (tie a cotton ball on one end and use the vac to suck the line through).

If you are running network cable try and get CAT6 that has a earth shield too. you run greater risk of blowing your network when you run stuff in the ground or outside. just connect one end of the shield to the house earth (don't connect the other in the garage) Also get one of these for each end http://www.apc.com/resource/include/tec ... ku=pnet1gb" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
just put your connector on each end of the CAT plug them into the APC units and your devices into the other side of the APC units. you do need to connect each APC unit to earth though.
I ran CAT6, phone cable and 12 core alarm cable so I could have the garage trigger the house and use some of the other cores for an intercom, all were shielded lines but it is an 80m run to the garage so more chance of an EMP hitting my systems.
0 x
MT350

User avatar
Bonnielad
Global Moderator
Posts: 1310
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2015 7:38 pm

Re: Anyone know about underground phone cables

Post by Bonnielad » Thu Jun 11, 2015 9:45 pm

YEP! Understood every word :!:
I've never felt so analogue
0 x
1985 Armstrong MT500 ('Modernised') now L.R. Green.
1964 Triumph Tiger Cub TR20 Trials Works Replica
2019 Honda CB500X

User avatar
Joth.Hill
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 12:58 pm
Location: Nottinghamshire

Re: Anyone know about underground phone cables

Post by Joth.Hill » Fri Jun 12, 2015 6:49 am

mt bandit wrote:i think i would just lay a 2" service pipe with a string cord in it, so they can pull through whatever they want,
coz as everything changes what you lay now might not be any good later down the line
mick
Don't bother guessing which cable to install, two 25mm plastic pipes are cheap to lay and are future proof.
Joth
0 x

pupster
Posts: 658
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 9:24 pm
Location: Machynlleth

Re: Anyone know about underground phone cables

Post by pupster » Fri Jun 12, 2015 6:54 pm

Thanks for all your input guys. I've got a clearer idea now.
Cheers, John.
0 x

appyarry
Posts: 1523
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 9:39 pm
Location: Lyminge, Kent.

Re: Anyone know about underground phone cables

Post by appyarry » Fri Jun 12, 2015 8:04 pm

Run 4" pipe and you have room for the UFH :-)
0 x
Serveta Jet 200
Triumph Tigress 250
BSA C15 to be rebuilt as Scrambler
Sinclair Goddard PowerPak
Kalkhoff Endeavour 11 Speed Hub

User avatar
Bunker
Site Admin
Posts: 3488
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2008 8:42 pm
Location: Newbury, Berkshire

Re: Anyone know about underground phone cables

Post by Bunker » Sat Jun 13, 2015 9:38 am

Run a 27" pipe and you get through it yourself..
0 x
HD MT500e 'Bunk'
HD MT604e MTourer project


You don't need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.

User avatar
bth2bth2
Posts: 4226
Joined: Sun Jun 07, 2009 8:45 am
Location: Blackpool

Re: Anyone know about underground phone cables

Post by bth2bth2 » Sat Jun 13, 2015 11:32 am

i think it might need to be slightly bigger :? :lol:


brian
0 x
Slowly slowly catchy monkey.............
CBR 900rrs , zrx1100.in green gone but not forgotten.....mt500 in green ,stolen and abused but still alive.......cos one day , all bikes will be this slowwwwwww

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest